How are new technologies changing our lives?
We are looking for the answers!

New technology applications generally serve progress. But they also have a whole range of unforseeable effects. The task of TA-SWISS consists in analyzing all possible consequences so that everyone can form his or her own educated opinion.

TA-SWISS, the Centre for Technology Assessment, deals with the possible consequences (opportunities and risks) of using new technologies on social coexistence and on the environment. To do so, TA-SWISS brings together experts from a very diverse range of subject areas and consults citizens. The analyses carried out by TA-SWISS are always centred around a consideration of possible "technological futures" from social, economic, ecological, ethical, legal and political points of view and working out courses of action from these.

  • To this end TA-SWISS takes on an early identification role and encourages debate on the opportunities and risks of new technologies.
  • TA-SWISS promotes interaction between different groups in society, provides objective bases for discussion and thus facilitates democratic decision making.
  • Based on its analyses and assessments, TA-SWISS presents decision makers with a reasoned selection of options.
  • From its studies, TA-SWISS draws its own conclusions, formulates and publishes its own recommendations and thus provides guidance for politicians, citizens and their organisations.

Scientific, independent, impartial

TA-SWISS therefore concerns itself with potential consequences of new technologies and their effect on our society. As a foundation financed exclusively from public funds, TA-SWISS fulfils its mandate, which is enshrined in law, on the basis of scientific knowledge, independence and impartiality.

These are the topics we are currently working on:

Our projects: information and background material

International technology assessment




Latest publications

FOCUS FOOD Schlussbericht Participatory Workshop, TA-SWISS (Hrsg.), Bern, 2017

Download PDF Download PDF

When the future lies in the genes. Non-invasive prenatal tests and their consequences. Abridged version of the study «Wissen können, dürfen, wollen? Genetische Untersuchungen während der Schwangerscha Centre for Technology Assessment (ed.), TA-63A/2016, Bern, 2016

Download PDF Download PDF

Wissen können, dürfen, wollen? Genetische Untersuchungen während der Schwangerschaft. TA-SWISS Studie Susanne Brauer, Jean-Daniel Strub, Barbara Bleisch, Christian Bolliger, Andrea Büchler, Isabel Filges, Peter Miny, Anna Sax, Sevgi Tercanli, Markus Zimmermann (eds.), vdf Hochschulverlag AG, 452 Seiten, CHF 48.00 / EUR 46.00 (D).
978-3-7281-3748-7 (Buch)

Download PDF Download PDF

Solo self-employment, worker entrepreneurship, crowdworking and co. Flexible working and its consequences. Abridged version of the TA-SWISS study: «Flexible neue Arbeitswelt. Eine Bestandsaufnahme au Centre for Technology Assessment (ed.), TA-64A/2016, Bern, 2016

Download PDF Download PDF

Flexible neue Arbeitswelt. Eine Bestandsaufnahme auf gesellschaftlicher und volkswirtschaftlicher Ebene. Studie TA-SWISS Studie, Jens O. Meissner, Johann Weichbrodt, Bettina Hübscher, Sheron Baumann, Ute Klotz, Ulrich Pekruhl, Leila Gisin, Alexandra Gisler (eds.), vdf Hochschulverlag AG, 338 Seiten, CHF 48.00 / EUR 46.00 (D)
ISBN: 978-3-7281-3770-8 (Buch)

Download PDF Download PDF

Media and Democracy in the Digitalisation Age. Abridged version of the TA-SWISS study: «Medien und Meinungsmacht» Centre for Technology Assessment (ed.), TA-65A/2017, Bern, 2017

Download PDF Download PDF

Medien und Meinungsmacht. Studie TA-SWISS Studie, Manuel Puppis, Michael Schenk und Brigitte Hofstetter (eds.), vdf Hochschulverlag AG, 338 Seiten, CHF 48.00 / EUR 46.00 (D)
ISBN: 978-3-7281-3792-0-7 (Buch)

Download PDF Download PDF

Newsletter 2/2017: «Was meins ist, ist deins – Sharing Economy»

Download PDF Download PDF

Newsletter 1/2017: «Medien und Meinungsmacht»

Download PDF Download PDF

order publication

Wie verändern neue Technologien unser Leben?
Wir suchen die Antworten!

Neue Technikanwendungen dienen dem Fortschritt. Doch sie haben immer auch Konsequenzen, die sich unserer Kenntnis entziehen. Die Aufgabe von TA-SWISS ist es, alle möglichen Folgen untersuchen zu lassen, damit jede und jeder sich eine eigene Meinung bilden kann.

TA-SWISS, Stiftung für Technologiefolgen-Abschätzung, setzt sich mit den Chancen und Risiken neuer Technologien auseinander. Dafür bringt TA-SWISS Expertinnen und Experten verschiedenster Fachrichtungen an einen Tisch und befragt Bürgerinnen und Bürger. Es geht bei den Analysen, die TA-SWISS erarbeitet, im Kern immer darum, mögliche technologische Zukunftsvarianten aus gesellschaftlichen, wirtschaftlichen, ökologischen, ethischen, rechtlichen und politischen Gesichtspunkten zu betrachten.

  • In diesem Sinne nimmt TA-SWISS eine Früherkennungsfunktion wahr und regt die Debatte über die Chancen und Risiken neuer Technologien an.
  • TA-SWISS fördert den Austausch zwischen verschiedenen Gruppen der Gesellschaft, liefert sachliche Diskussionsgrundlagen und unterstützt damit die demokratische Entscheidungsfindung.
  • Auf der Grundlage ihrer Analysen und Einschätzungen legt TA-SWISS den politischen Verantwortlichen eine begründete Auswahl von Optionen vor.
  • TA-SWISS zieht aus ihren Studien eigene Schlüsse, erarbeitet und publiziert Empfehlungen und hilft damit Politikerinnen und Politiker, Bürgerinnen und Bürger und ihren Organisationen, sich zu orientieren.

Wissenschaftlich, unabhängig, unparteiisch

TA-SWISS beschäftigt sich also mit möglichen Folgen des Einsatzes neuer Technologien für die Gesellschaft. TA-SWISS ist ausschliesslich durch öffentliche Mittel finanziert und erfüllt ihren gesetzlich verankerten Auftrag wissenschaftlich, unabhängig und unparteilich.

Diese Themen beschäftigen uns aktuell

Informationen und Hintergrundmaterial zu den Projekten

Technologiefolgen-Abschätzung international




Aktuelle Tweets und Blogeinträge

Aktuelle Publikationen

FOCUS FOOD Schlussbericht Participatory Workshop, TA-SWISS (Hrsg.), Bern, 2017

PDF Download PDF Download

Wenn die Zukunft in den Genen liegt: Nicht-invasive pränatale Tests und ihre Folgen. Kurzfassung der TA-SWISS-Studie «Wissen können, dürfen, wollen? Genetische Untersuchungen während der Schwangerscha Zentrum für Technologiefolgen-Abschätzung (hrsg.), TA-63A/2016, Bern, 2016

PDF Download PDF Download

Wissen können, dürfen, wollen? Genetische Untersuchungen während der Schwangerschaft. TA-SWISS Studie Susanne Brauer, Jean-Daniel Strub, Barbara Bleisch, Christian Bolliger, Andrea Büchler, Isabel Filges, Peter Miny, Anna Sax, Sevgi Tercanli, Markus Zimmermann (eds.), vdf Hochschulverlag AG, 452 Seiten, CHF 48.00 / EUR 46.00 (D).
978-3-7281-3748-7 (Buch)

PDF Download PDF Download

Solo-Selbständigkeit, Arbeitskraftunternehmertum, Crowdworking und Co: Flexibilisierte Arbeit und ihre Folgen. Kurzfassung der TA-SWISS-Studie «Flexible neue Arbeitswelt. Eine Bestandsaufnahme auf ges Zentrum für Technologiefolgen-Abschätzung (hrsg.), TA 64A/2016, Bern, 2016

PDF Download PDF Download

Flexible neue Arbeitswelt. Eine Bestandsaufnahme auf gesellschaftlicher und volkswirtschaftlicher Ebene. Studie TA-SWISS Studie, Jens O. Meissner, Johann Weichbrodt, Bettina Hübscher, Sheron Baumann, Ute Klotz, Ulrich Pekruhl, Leila Gisin, Alexandra Gisler (eds.), vdf Hochschulverlag AG, 338 Seiten, CHF 48.00 / EUR 46.00 (D)
ISBN: 978-3-7281-3770-8 (Buch)

PDF Download PDF Download

Medien und Demokratie im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung. Kurzfassung der TA-SWISS-Studie «Medien und Meinungsmacht» Zentrum für Technologiefolgen-Abschätzung (hrsg.), TA 65A/2017, Bern, 2017

PDF Download PDF Download

Medien und Meinungsmacht. Studie TA-SWISS Studie, Manuel Puppis, Michael Schenk und Brigitte Hofstetter (eds.), vdf Hochschulverlag AG, 338 Seiten, CHF 48.00 / EUR 46.00 (D)
ISBN: 978-3-7281-3792-0-7 (Buch)

PDF Download PDF Download

Newsletter 1/2017: «Medien und Meinungsmacht»

PDF Download PDF Download

Publikation bestellen