Study «Nanofood»

Introduction | Results | Procedure | DownloadsContacts

Umschlag_Nano_im_Lebensmittelbereich.jpg

Martin Möller, Ulrike Eberle, Andreas Hermann, Katja Moch, Britta Stratmann.
Nanotechnology in the food sector
TA-SWISS (ed.) – Centre for Technology Assessment, 2009, 228 pages
CHF 48.– / EUR 34.– (D) ISBN 978-3-7281-3234-5/  Download open access ISBN 9783728132512
vdf Hochschulverlag AG, ETH Zurich

Now available in English!
Download of the Final report (pdf)

Introduction

What is nanotechnology?
The term “nano” comes from the Greek word for “dwarf”. In science and technology, we use it to define the order of magnitude “one billionth” (10-9). In the field of nanotechnology, it refers to a nanometre (nm), that is, one billionth of a metre (one millionth of a millimetre). Nanotechnology relates specifically to structures between 1 and 100 nanometres in size, which brings it into the realm of individual molecules or even atoms. At such dimensions, the properties of materials can assume significantly different characteristics, which opens up a range of new possibilities for technology. There are already everyday applications, e.g. in textiles, or in the finishing of surfaces such as window glass.

Opportunities and risks of nanotechnology in the food sector
The popular media are already carrying reports about “nanofood”, presenting on the one hand examples of products and futuristic scena­rios for nutrition, and on the other mentioning unforeseeable risks. The benefits, for instance, include health-promoting additives, and there is also talk of longer shelf-lives or new flavour varieties. Among the risks, the reports point to the still inadequately clarified effects these new types of substances might have on our health. The public have their doubts about these developments, as was shown by the publifocus events held by TA-SWISS in 2006.

Why conduct a TA-SWISS study on this subject?
Experts in the field of food science are fin­ding that at present very little practical use is made of nanotechnology in food, although it is important in basic research. The industry is already spending huge sums on researching the relative potential. That is why there is an urgent need for some clarification of the issue, before any such products are marketed on a wide scale. The public reacts very sensitively to the way food is produced; the debate on genetic engineering showed this very clearly. An early, well-grounded investigation of nanotechnology in the field of nutrition should therefore help to generate an objective discussion.

Aims of the study

  • To discuss the future prospects for nanotechnology in the food sector (including packaging materials). What visions and interests are linked to these, and who are the actors behind them?
  • To distinguish between “nanofictions”, as they are constantly being presented in the media, and the scientific principles and foreseeable applications based on these.
  • To investigate the subject in the context of changing nutritional habits (trends such as convenience food or functional food). What requirements are there on the consumer side?
  • To discuss arguments about the natural state and the “manipulation” of food in comparison with the long-standing debate on genetic engineering in food.
  • To evaluate the situation in an overall assessment by comparing different strategies for “improving” foods.  
  • To formulate recommendations for decision makers, especially politicians. 

[TOP]

Results

  • The analysis of the Swiss market showed that so far only few nanoscale food additives as well as food supplied with such components are available. These are additives such as silicon dioxide, carotenoids and micelles which are already in use and have been toxicologically reviewed for many years. They allow an improved handling, an improved optic and an increase of the bioavailability of nutrients.
  • However, on non-European markets food additives containing nanoscale heavy metals with dubious benefits and partially risky properties from a toxicological viewpoint are available.
  • In food packaging composite films and PET bottles with nano-technologically improved barrier features against gases and flavours improving shelf-life of the content can be found on the Swiss market. Furthermore, packaging with biocidal substances (mainly nanosilver) exist outside Switzerland with a view to achieve active protection against bacteria and fungi.
  • At present, given the current market situation, the contribution of nanotechnology to an environmentally friendly, constitutional and ethically responsible nutrition is estimated marginal in Switzerland.
  • In perspective the enrichment of food with nanoscale supplements (e.g. iron) could indeed generate a constitutional advantage in developing countries, which is connected to an economic potential on a large scale.
  • A requirement for this is the human and eco-toxicological harmlessness of the applied nanomaterials. Food packaging with nanocomponents, however, already offer advantages for consumers at present and therefore hold a bigger potential for the future, especially because it also includes environmental impact reduction potential.   

Recommendations

  • The challenge for the future consists in not precluding the achievable benefit through possible existing human and eco-toxicological risks of the applied nanomaterials. At this level, for instance, the migration of toxicologically critical nano-materials of food packaging into food has to be mentioned.
  • Therefore, the development of nanomaterials in the food sector and the design of the scope of regulation should be conducted by the precautionary principle. It is recommended to integrate the precautionary principle explicitly into Swiss food law.
  • When implementing the principle, the current regulations to food law, which generally also include nanomaterials, should be adjusted to nanospecific demands. Concrete public guidelines for risk management for producers and importers are recommended.
  • Furthermore, specific labelling of nanomaterials in ingredients and in packaging materials is recommended. The labelling shall facilitate traceability in the production chain of specific food and governmental food monitoring, as well as offering the freedom of choice to consumers. However, the enaction of a specific "nanofood law" is not recommended.
  • Finally, it should be surveyed if and to what extent the regulations for traceability along the production chain for synthetic nanomaterials that ist already followed by producers, have to be adapted and how they are applied in practice.
  • Regulatory measures have to be accompanied by an intensification of risk research as well as a consequent assuming of product responsibility by the producers. This especially involves increased information, transparency and willingness to communicate with stakeholders and the public.
  • As is also recommended within the action plan "Synthetic nanomaterials" by the Federal Council, dialogue platforms about chances and risks as well as a corporative agreement process for the handling of nano-materials in the food sector should form an integral element of the further development process.

[TOP]

Procedure

Method
The study essentially comprises three modules:

  • Interdisciplinary analysis
    After defining the subject of the investigation, this module will analyse the product market, the state of research, the legal situation and social questions. The debate about genetic engineering will be considered in comparison with these investigations, which relate to nanotechnology. Data will be obtained by means of “desk research” (evaluation of literature and databases) and interviews with experts.
  • Stakeholder survey
    Detailed and current data will be gathered from experts and other key actors in the nanotechnology field with the help of a written survey. This will cover in particular topics which the results of the first module have created a need of further clarification.  
  • Overall evaluation
    An interdisciplinary overall evaluation will analyse the results of modules one and two. Recommendations will be formulated, based on this evaluation.

Timetable
Project start: spring 2007| completion: spring 2009

[TOP]

Downloads

Media information
More attractive, fresher, healthier −
thanks to nanopackaging and nanoadditives?
pdf

Study abstract
Dinner is served!
Nanotechnology in the kitchen and in the shopping basket
Abstract of the TA-SWISS study «Nanotechnology in the food sector»
Pdf of the abstract in English, French and German

Press review
«Nano» auf dem Teller und in der Flasche, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, 24.01.2009
Nanoteilchen in Lebensmitteln sind ungenügend reglementiert, Tages Anzeiger, 24.01.2009
Keine Deklaration für Nano-Lebensmittel, Der Bund, 24.01.2009
Des nanotechnologies dans nos assiettes, Le Temps, 24.01.2009

Podcast
28.01.2009: les nanoparticules, Radio Suisse Romande, Impatience

Contacts

Sponsorship
• Centre for Technology Assessment TA-SWISS
• Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
• The Innovation Promotion Agency CTI

Persons participating

TA-SWISS Project Supervisors
• Dr Adrian Rüegsegger, TA-SWISS, e-mail

Project mandataries
• Dr Ulrike Eberle, Öko-Institut e.V. – Institute for Applied Ecology, Freiburg i.Br., Germany
• Martin Möller, Öko-Institut e.V. – Institute for Applied Ecology, Freiburg i.Br., Germany

Supervisory group
• Prof. Dr Ueli Aebi, Module manager «Nanobiology», Swiss Nanosciences Institute, Basel
• Dr Andreas Bachmann, Philosopher, Ethik im Diskurs GmbH, Zurich
• Dr Michael Beer, Food Safety Division, Federal Office of Public Health FOPH, Bern
• Natalie Bougeard, Scientific journalist, L’Hebdo, Lausanne
• PD Dr. Béatrice J. Conde-Petit, Corporate Development Bühler Management AG, Uzwil
• Dr Lutz End, R&D Formulation Nutrition, Fine Chemical Division, BASF AG, Ludwigshafen, Germany
• Ruth Genner, Food scientist, President of the Green Party
• Peter Gubser, Marketing Services, Migros-Genossenschaftsbund, Zurich
• Dr Beat Hodler, Föderation der Schweizerischen Nahrungsmittelindustrie (FIAL), Bern
• Alain Kaufmann, Director Nanopublic, Interface Sciences-Société, University of Lausanne
• Prof. Dr Harald Krug, Division Manager «Materials-Biology Interactions», EMPA, St Gall
• Dr Markus Lötscher, Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG, Bern
• Dr Thomas H. Meier, Foundation for Consumer Protection SKS, Bern
• Prof. Dr Peter Schurtenberger, Center for Nanomaterials, Physics department of the University of Fribourg
• Dr Christoph Studer, Industrial Chemicals Section, Substances, Soil, Biotechnology Division, Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), Bern
• Prof. Dr Jakob Tanner, Research Centre for Social and Economic History, University of Zurich
• Prof. Dr Erich Windhab, Institute for Food and Nutrition Science, ETH Zurich

Project
Short Title: Nanofood
Long Title: Nanofood
Short Description: Nanotechnology has arrived in the food sector – in the form of additives, or in packaging materials. The TA-SWISS study shows which synthetic nanomaterials are being used for these, which applications are likely in the foreseeable future, and where caution is called for. The study also assesses products that contain nanomaterials, with regard to environmental issues and sustainability.
Start: 2007
End: 2009
Partner Institutes:
Scope Countries:
Contact Person: Rüegsegger, Adrian
Home Page URL: http://www.ta-swiss.ch/en/nanofood/
Focus:
Project Leader: TA-SWISS
Other Members:

The project in brief

Nanotechnology has arrived in the food sector – in the form of additives, or in packaging materials. The TA-SWISS study shows which synthetic nanomaterials are being used for these, which applications are likely in the foreseeable future, and where caution is called for. The study also assesses products that contain nanomaterials, with regard to environmental issues and sustainability.

Project: completet (2009)

Publications: Book (German) , English translation and abridged version (German, French, English)

Project mandataire: Dr Martin Möller, Institute of Applied Ecology, Freiburg (Germany)

PET-Flaschen.jpg

Studie «Nanotechnologie im Bereich der Lebensmittel»

Einführung | ResultateVorgehen | DownloadsKontakte

Umschlag_Nano_im_Lebensmittelbereich.jpg

Martin Möller, Ulrike Eberle, Andreas Hermann, Katja Moch, Britta Stratmann.

Nanotechnologie im Bereich der Lebensmittel
TA-SWISS (hrsg.) – Zentrum für Technologiefolgen-Abschätzung, 2009
228 Seiten / CHF 48.– / EUR 34.– (D) ISBN 978-3-7281-3234-5 (Buch) / Download open access ISBN 9783728132512
vdf Hochschulverlag AG, ETH Zürich

Jetzt auch auf Englisch verfügbar!
Die "Nanotechnology in the Food Sector" downloaden (pdf)

Einführung

Was ist Nanotechnologie?
Der Begriff «Nano» stammt aus dem Griechischen und bedeutet Zwerg. Im wissenschaftlichen und technischen Bereich bezeichnet man damit die Grössenordnung «ein Milliardstel» (10-9). Gemeint ist im Falle der Nanotechnologie ein Nanometer (nm), also ein Milliardstel Meter (ein Millionstel Millimeter). Die Nanotechnologie befasst sich gezielt mit Strukturen in der Grösse von 1 bis 100 Nanometern, dringt also in den Bereich einzelner Moleküle oder gar Atome vor. In solchen Dimensionen können Substanzen ganz neuartige Eigenschaften erhalten. Dies eröffnet der Technik neue Möglichkeiten. Bereits gibt es Anwendungen im Alltag, z.B. bei Textilien oder bei der Veredelung von Oberflächen wie Fensterglas.

Chancen und Risiken der Nanotechnologie im Bereich der Lebensmittel
Populäre Medien berichten auch schon über «Nanofood», wobei einerseits Produktbeispiele und futuristische Szena­rien für die Ernährung präsentiert werden, andererseits von unabsehbaren Risiken die Rede ist. Als Nutzen werden etwa gesundheitsfördernde Zusatzstoffe genannt, auch von längerer Haltbarkeit oder neuen Geschmacksvarianten ist die Rede. Bei den Risiken wird auf die noch zu wenig abgeklärten Auswirkungen der neuartigen Substanzen auf die Gesundheit hingewiesen. In diesem Zusammenhang gibt es Bedenken bei der Bevölkerung, wie die von TA-SWISS im Jahr 2006 durchgeführten publifocus-Veranstaltungen gezeigt haben.

Wieso eine TA-SWISS Studie zu diesem Thema?
Fachpersonen aus dem Bereich der Lebensmittelwissenschaften fin­den, dass die Nanotechnologie bei Lebensmitteln in der Praxis derzeit noch kaum zum Einsatz komme, in der Grundlagenforschung jedoch von Bedeutung sei. Die Industrie erforscht entsprechende Möglichkeiten bereits mit grossem Aufwand. Eine Abklärung des Themas drängt sich deshalb auf, bevor allfällige Produkte breit vermarktet werden. Denn die Bevölkerung reagiert sehr sensibel auf die Art und Weise, wie Lebensmittel hergestellt werden. Dies hat die Debatte zur Gentechnik ganz deutlich gezeigt. Eine frühezeitige, fundierte Auseinandersetzung mit der Nanotechnologie im Bereich der Ernährung soll einer sachlichen Diskussion dienen.

Zielsetzungen der Studie

  • Erörtern der Zukunftsperspektiven der Nanotechnologie im Bereich der Lebensmittel (inklusive Verpackungsmaterialien). Welche Visionen und Interessen sind damit verbunden, welche Akteure stehen dahinter?
  • Unterscheiden zwischen den «Nano-Fictions», wie sie in den Medien immer wieder präsentiert werden und den wissenschaftlichen Grundlagen sowie den darauf basierenden absehbaren Anwendungen.
  • Untersuchen der Thematik im Kontext der sich ändernden Ernäh­rungsgewohnhei­ten (Trends wie convenience food oder functional food). Welche Bedürfnisse bestehen auf Seiten der Konsumentinnen und Konsumenten?
  • Diskussion von Argumenten rund um die Naturbelassenheit bzw. «Manipulation» von Lebensmitteln im Vergleich mit der langjährigen Debatte zur Gentechnik in der Ernährung.
  • Bewerten der Situation in einer Gesamtbeurteilung durch einen Vergleich unterschiedlicher Strategien für die  «Verbesserung» von Lebensmitteln.
  • Formulieren von Empfehlungen für Entscheidungstragende, insbesondere Politiker/innen.  

[TOP]

Resultate

  • Die Analyse des Schweizer Markts zeigte, dass bislang nur wenige nanoskalige Lebensmittelzusatzstoffe bzw. mit solchen Komponenten versehene Lebensmittel verfügbar sind. Es sind dies Zusatzstoffe wie Siliziumdioxid, Carotinoide und Micellen, die schon seit vielen Jahren verwendet werden und toxikologisch überprüft sind. Sie ermöglichen ein verbessertes Handling, eine verbesserte Optik oder eine Steigerung der Bioverfügbarkeit von Nährstoffen.
  • Auf aussereuropäischen Märkten werden hingegen auch Nahrungsergänzungsmittel mit nanoskaligen Edelmetallen mit fragwürdigem Nutzen und z.T. toxikologisch bedenklichen Eigenschaften angeboten.
  • Bei Lebensmittelverpackungen befinden sich auf dem Schweizer Markt Verbundfolien und PET-Flaschen mit nanotechnologisch opti­mierten Barriereeigenschaften gegen­über Gasen und Aroma­stoffen, die eine verbesserte Haltbarkeit des Inhalts bewirken. Ausserhalb der Schweiz existieren darüber hinaus Verpackungen mit biozid wirkenden Substanzen (v.a. Nanosilber), um einen Schutz vor Bakterien und Pilzen zu erzielen.
  • Angesichts der aktuellen Marktsituation wird der Beitrag der Nanotechnologie zu einer umweltverträglichen, gesundheitsfördernden und ethisch verantwortlichen Ernährung für die Schweiz derzeit als sehr gering eingeschätzt.
  • In Zukunft könnte allerdings eine Anreicherung von Lebensmitteln mit nanoskaligen Supplementen (z.B. Eisen) in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern mit entsprechender Mangelversorgung einen gesundheitlichen Nutzen generieren, der mit wirtschaftlichen Potenzialen in grösserem Umfang verbunden ist.
  • Voraussetzung hierfür ist die öko- und humantoxikologische Unbedenklichkeit der ver­wendeten Nanomaterialien. Lebensmittelverpackungen mit Nanokomponenten bieten hingegen bereits jetzt Vorteile für die Konsument/innen und bergen somit grössere Zukunftspotenziale, zumal hier auch Umweltentlastungseffekte bestehen.

Empfehlungen

  • Die Herausforderung für die Zukunft besteht darin, dass der erzielbare Nutzen nicht durch ggf. vorhandene human- wie ökotoxikologische Risiken der verwendeten Nano­materialien konterkariert wird. Hier ist z.B. die Migration von toxikologisch bedenklichen Nanomaterialien von Verpackungsmaterialien ins Lebensmittel zu nennen.
  • Daher sollte im Lebensmittelsektor die Entwicklung von Nanomaterialien und die Ausgestaltung des Regelungsrahmens durch das Vorsorgeprinzip geleitet werden. Es wird deshalb empfohlen, das Vorsorgeprinzip im Schweizer Lebensmittelrecht ausdrücklich aufzu­nehmen.
  • In der Umsetzung des Prinzips sollten dann die bisherigen Schweizer Vorschriften zum Lebensmittelrecht, die grundsätzlich auch Nanomaterialien umfassen, auf die nanospezifischen Erfordernisse angepasst werden. Konkret empfohlen werden staatliche Vorgaben für das Risiko­management bei den Herstellern und Importeuren.
  • Ferner wird eine spezi­fische Kennzeichnung von Nanomaterialien in Zutaten bzw. in Verpackungs­materialien empfohlen. Die Kennzeichnung soll in der Herstellungskette die Rückverfolgbarkeit von entsprechenden Lebensmitteln und die staatliche Lebensmittelüberwachung erleichtern sowie den Konsument/innen die Ausübung der Wahlfreiheit ermöglichen. Nicht empfohlen wird hingegen der Erlass eines speziellen «Nano-Lebensmittelgesetzes».
  • Schliesslich sollte überprüft werden, ob und inwieweit die bereits von den Herstellern zu beachtenden Regelungen zur Rückverfolgbarkeit entlang der Herstellungskette für synthe­tische Nanomaterialien anzupassen sind und wie sie in der Praxis angewandt werden.
  • Die regulatorischen Massnahmen müssen flankiert werden durch eine Intensivierung der Risikoforschung sowie durch eine konsequente Wahrnehmung der Produktverant­wortung seitens der Hersteller. Dies umfasst insbesondere auch eine verstärkte Information, Transparenz und Dialogbereitschaft gegenüber Stakeholdern und der Öffentlichkeit.
  • Wie auch im Aktionsplan «Synthetische Nanomaterialien» des Bundesrates empfohlen, sollten daher Dialogplattformen zu den Chancen und Risiken sowie ein gesellschaft­licher Verständigungsprozess zum Umgang mit Nanomaterialien im Lebensmittelsektor einen integralen Bestandteil des weiteren Entwicklungsprozesses bilden

[TOP]

Vorgehen

Methode
Die Studie besteht im Wesentlichen aus drei Modulen:

  • Interdisziplinäre Analyse
    Nach der Definition des Untersuchungsgegenstandes werden in diesem Modul der Produktemarkt, der Stand der Forschung, die rechtliche Situation und die gesellschaftlichen Fragestellungen analysiert. Im Vergleich zu diesen Untersuchungen, die sich auf die Nanotechnologie beziehen, wird die Gentechnik-Debatte reflektiert. Die Erhebung der Daten erfolgt mittels «Desk Research» (Auswertung von Literatur und Datenbanken) und durch Interviews mit Fachpersonen.
  • Stakeholderbefragung
    Mit Hilfe einer schriftlichen Befragung sollen bei Fachpersonen und anderen wichtigen Akteuren im Bereich der Nanotechnologie vertiefende und aktuelle Informationen eingeholt werden insbesondere zu Themen, bei denen nach den Ergebnissen des ersten Moduls noch weiterer Abklärungsbedarf besteht.  
  • Gesamtbewertung
    In einer interdisziplinären Gesamtbewertung werden die Ergebnisse aus dem ersten und zweiten Modul ausgewertet. Beruhend auf dieser Auswertung werden Empfehlungen formuliert.

Zeitplan
Projektbeginn: Sommer 2007 | Abschluss: Frühling 2009

[TOP]

Downloads

Medieninformation
Schöner, frischer, gesünder −
dank Nano-Verpackungen und Nano-Zusatzstoffen?
pdf

Kurzfassung
Es ist angerichtet
Nanotechnologie in der Küche und im Einkaufskorb
Kurzfassung der Studie von TA-SWISS «Nanotechnologie im Bereich der Lebensmittel»
Pdf der Kurzfassung auf Deutsch, Französisch und Englisch

Medienspiegel
«Nano» auf dem Teller und in der Flasche, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, 24.01.2009
Nanoteilchen in Lebensmitteln sind ungenügend reglementiert, Tages Anzeiger, 24.01.2009
Keine Deklaration für Nano-Lebensmittel, Der Bund, 24.01.2009
Des nanotechnologies dans nos assiettes, Le Temps, 24.01.2009

Podcast
28.01.2009: les nanoparticules, Radio Suisse Romande, Impatience,

Kontakte

Trägerschaft

  • Zentrum für Technologiefolgen-Abschätzung TA-SWISS
  • Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW
  • Kommission für Technologie und Innovation KTI

Beteiligte Personen

TA-SWISS Projekt-Betreuer

  • Dr. Adrian Rüegsegger, TA-SWISS, E-mail

Projekt-Beauftragte

  • Dr. Ulrike Eberle, Öko-Institut e.V. – Institut für Angewandte Ökologie, Freiburg i.Br., Deutschland
  • Martin Möller, Öko-Institut e.V. – Institut für Angewandte Ökologie, Freiburg i.Br., Deutschland

Begleitgruppe

  • Prof. Dr. Ueli Aebi, Modul-Leiter «Nanobiologie», Swiss Nanosciences Institute, Basel
  • Dr. Andreas Bachmann, Philosoph, Ethik im Diskurs GmbH, Zürich
  • Dr. Michael Beer, Abteilung Lebensmittelsicherheit, Bundesamt für Gesundheit (BAG), Bern
  • Natalie Bougeard, Wissenschaftsjournalistin, L’Hébdo, Lausanne
  • PD Dr. Béatrice J. Conde-Petit, Corporate Development Bühler Management AG, Uzwil
  • Dr. Lutz End, R&D Formulation Nutrition, Fine Chemical Division, BASF AG, Ludwigshafen, Deutschland
  • Ruth Genner, Lebensmittelingenieurin; Präsidentin der Grünen Partei
  • Peter Gubser, Marketing Services, Migros - Genossenschaftsbund, Zürich
  • Dr. Beat Hodler, Föderation der Schweizerischen Nahrungsmittelindustrie (FIAL), Bern
  • Alain Kaufmann, Verantwortlicher Nanopublic, Interface Sciences-Société, Universität Lausanne
  • Prof. Dr. Harald Krug, Abteilungsleiter «Materials-Biology Interactions», EMPA, St. Gallen
  • Dr. Markus Lötscher, Bundesamt für Landwirtschaft BLW, Bern  
  • Dr. Thomas H. Meier, Stiftung für Konsumentenschutz (SKS), Bern 
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Schurtenberger, Departement Physik der Universität Fribourg, Center for Nanomaterials
  • Dr. Christoph Studer, Abteilung Stoffe, Boden, Biotechnologie, Bundesamt für Umwelt (BAFU), Bern
  • Prof. Dr. Jakob Tanner, Forschungsstelle für Sozial- und Wirtschaftsgeschichte der Universität Zürich
  • Prof. Dr. Erich Windhab, Institut für Lebensmittel- und Ernährungswissenschaften, ETH Zürich

[TOP]

Project
Short Title: Nanofood
Long Title: Nanofood
Short Description: Nanotechnology has arrived in the food sector – in the form of additives, or in packaging materials. The TA-SWISS study shows which synthetic nanomaterials are being used for these, which applications are likely in the foreseeable future, and where caution is called for. The study also assesses products that contain nanomaterials, with regard to environmental issues and sustainability.
Start: 2007
End: 2009
Partner Institutes:
Scope Countries:
Contact Person: Rüegsegger, Adrian
Home Page URL: http://www.ta-swiss.ch/en/nanofood/
Focus:
Project Leader: TA-SWISS
Other Members:

Das Projekt in Kürze

Die Nanotechnologie hält Einzug in den Bereich der Lebensmittel – in Form von Zusatzstoffen oder in Verpackungsmaterialien. Die TA-SWISS-Studie zeigt, welche synthetischen Nanomaterialien dazu verwendet werden, welche Anwendungen absehbar sind und wo Vorsicht geboten ist. Zudem bewertet sie Produkte, die Nanomaterialien enthalten, bezüglich Umweltfragen und Nachhaltigkeit.

Projekt: abgeschlossen (2009)

Produkte: Buch, englische Übersetzung der Studie, Kurzfassung (deutsch, französisch, englisch)

Projektleitung: Dr. Martin Möller, Institut für angewandte Ökologie, Freiburg (D)

PET-Flaschen.jpg