Worldwide collective project «WWViews on Global Warming»

Introduction |  Procedure | Results/DownloadsContacts | Links

Introduction

What does «WWViews on Global Warming» mean?
WWViews on Global Warming, a shortened form of World Wide Views on Global Warming, is the title of a collective project whose aim is to find out what citizens of different countries around the world think about the issue of global warming.

Why conduct a worldwide project on global warming?
Natural disasters are becoming more and more frequent, the polar ice is melting, glaciers are retreating: in recent years, the consequences of global warming have become all too visible, and this issue is now a major challenge for the world’s political leaders. Everyone has a growing awareness of their own responsibility in the process of global warming, and it is important that everyone should be able to express their opinions to political decision makers.
That is why the Danish Board of Technology (DBT), the agency responsible for technology evaluation in Denmark, has launched a worldwide participative project whose aim is to find out what citizens’ views are on climate change and to enable them to put those views to negotiators at COP15, the United Nations Climate Change Conference, which is to be held in Copenhagen, Denmark, in December 2009. The negotiations that will take place there will be particularly important and decisive for future develpments after the Kyoto Protocol.

Aims of the project
The main objective of this project is to give citizens all over the world an opportunity to contribute to the debate on global warming, and to express their views on the key issues that will be addressed at COP15 in Copenhagen in 2009, in order to influence the negotiations and the future of global climate policy. Another goal is to demonstrate that citizens throughout the world can play a part in the political decision-making process.

[TOP]

Procedure

Method

  • Citizens’ opinions and points of view will be gathered at events that will be held on Saturday, 26 September, two months before COP15.
  • Around one hundred citizens will be chosen to best represent their country’s demographic diversity, and their jobs must prefererably not be connected with global warming.
  • Citizens will receive information about global warming, and on the progress of the project before and during the event.
  • Around one hundred citizens will be gathered in a room, where they will be split into groups of 6-8 persons. We have adapted this method to allow for the fact that Switzerland is a multilingual country, and have therefore organised the event in three distinct locations (the German- and French-speaking regions of Switzerland and Ticino), dividing the group of 100 into three. The moderators for the discussions will be independent persons.
  • The discussions will be divided into two parts. Firstly part, participants will enter their answers in multiple choice questionnaires, after debating each question among themselves. In the second part, citizens will issue recommendations for political leaders, particularly the negotiators at COP15.

Timetable
Project start: March 2008 | completion: end 2009

[TOP]

Results and Downloads

Policy Report
Results are available on: http://results.wwviews.org

Recommendations
Swiss recommendations (Original)
Swiss recommendations (English)

Other publications
Newsletter TA-SWISS 02/2009 (in German and French)

[TOP]

Contacts

Project partners
National partners

Persons involved in the project
Responsible for the project at TA-SWISS

  • Dr Sergio Bellucci , TA-SWISS, e-mail
  • Nadia Ben Zbir, TA-SWISS

Swiss partners

  • Alain Kaufmann, Director, Interface Sciences-Société, Université de Lausanne
  • Marc Audétat, Interface Sciences-Société, Université de Lausanne
  • Prof. Edo Poglia, University of Lugano
  • Giovanni Pellegri, Science et Cité, University of Lugano
  • Michela Luraschi, Science et Cité, University of Lugano

Advisory board

  • Dr Ruedi Jörg-Fromm, Representative of the Swiss Federation of Trade Unions, (member of the Steering Committee), Zurich
  • René Longet, Equiterre, (Member of the Steering Committee), Geneva
  • Dr Urs Neu, ProClim, Swiss Academy of Sciences, Bern
  • Ulrike Saul, Climate expert, WWF Switzerland, Zurich
  • Mike Weibel, Federal Office for the Environment FOEN, Bern
  • Dr Elena Xoplaki, Oeschger Centre for Climate Change Research & NCCR Climate, University of Berne

Project coordinators

  • Dr Lars Klüver, Danish Board of Technology
  • Bjørn Bedsted, Danish Board of Technology
  • Søren Gram, Danish Board of Technology

[TOP]

Links

World Wide Views on Global Warming

[TOP]

Project
Short Title: WWViews on Global Warming
Long Title: Worldwide collective project WWViews on Global Warming
Short Description: In December 2009, representatives of a number of states came together at the United Nations Climate Change Conference, COP 15, to negotiate a new agreement following the Kyoto Protocol. In preparation for this meeting, World Wide Views on Global Warming gave 4,000 citizens from 38 countries an opportunity to express their views on climate policy issues.
Start: 2008
End: 2009
Partner Institutes: DBT
Scope Countries:
Contact Person: Bellucci, Sergio
Home Page URL: http://www.ta-swiss.ch/en/wwviews-on-global-warming
Focus:
Project Leader: TA-SWISS
Other Members:

Project in brief

In December 2009, representatives of a number of states came together at the United Nations Climate Change Conference, COP 15, to negotiate a new agreement following the Kyoto Protocol. In preparation for this meeting, World Wide Views on Global Warming gave 4,000 citizens from 38 countries an opportunity to express their views on climate policy issues.

Link: www.wwviews.org 

Timetable: March 2008 - end of 2009

Publications: Policy Report and Swiss recommendations

Project mandatary: Dr Lars Klüver, Bjørn Bedsted, Søren Gram, Danish Board of Technology

WWViews_Diskussion_korr.jpg

Projet collectif mondial «WWViews on Global Warming»

IntroductionDéroulement | Résultats/Downloads | Contacts | Liens

Introduction

Que signifie «WWViews on Global Warming»?
WWViews on Global Warming, abréviation de World Wide Views on Global Warming, est le titre d’un projet collectif visant à recueillir l’avis de citoyennes et citoyens de plusieurs continents sur la question du réchauffement climatique.

Pourquoi mener un projet mondial sur le réchauffement climatique ?
Multiplication des catastrophes naturelles, fonte de la banquise, recul des glaciers : ces dernières années, les conséquences du réchauffement climatique sont devenues perceptibles, faisant de cette question un enjeu majeur de la politique mondiale. Tout un chacun devient conscient de sa responsabilité dans le processus du réchauffement climatique et il est important que chacun puisse exprimer son opinion auprès des décideurs politiques.
C’est pourquoi le Danish Board of Technology (DBT), le bureau chargé de l’évaluation des choix technologiques au Danemark, a initié un projet participatif mondial, visant à recueillir l’avis de citoyennes et citoyens sur le réchauffement climatique et à le transmettre aux négociateurs du COP15, le Sommet Climatique des Nations Unies qui aura lieu à Copenhague, au Danemark, en décembre 2009. Les négociations qui s’y tiendront seront particulièrement importantes et décideront des suites du protocole de Kyoto.

Objectifs de ce projet
Ce projet vise avant tout à offrir la possibilité aux citoyennes et citoyens à travers le monde de contribuer au débat sur le réchauffement climatique en donnant leur avis sur des questions-clé abordées lors du COP15, à Copenhague en 2009, dans le but d’influencer les négociations et la future politique mondiale en matière de climat. Un autre but est de montrer que les citoyennes et citoyens du monde entier peuvent être impliqués dans les processus de décisions politiques.

[TOP]

Déroulement

Méthodes

  • L’avis et le point de vue des citoyens seront recueillis lors d’un événement se déroulant sur une journée, le 26 septembre 2009, deux mois avant le COP15.
  • Une centaine de citoyens seront choisis de manière à représenter au mieux la diversité démographique du pays et ne devront, si possible, pas occuper de poste en lien avec le réchauffement climatique.
  • Les citoyens recevront des informations sur le réchauffement climatique et sur le déroulement du projet avant et pendant l’événement.
  • Une centaine de citoyens seront réunis dans une salle et répartis en groupes de 6-8 personnes. Nous avons adapté cette méthode au plurilinguisme helvétique en organisant l’événement en trois lieux distincts (Suisse alémanique, Romandie, Tessin) et en scindant le groupe de 100 en trois. Les discussions seront modérées par des personnes indépendantes.
  • Les discussions seront divisées en deux parties. Lors de la première partie, les participants répondront à des questionnaires à choix multiples, après avoir débattu de chaque question entre eux. Lors de la seconde partie, les citoyens émettront des recommandations pour les dirigeants politiques, notamment les négociateurs du COP15.

Calendrier
Début du projet: mars 2008 | Fin: fin 2009

[TOP]

Résultats et Downloads

Résumé des résultats pour la Suisse

Rapport final (en anglais)

Les résultats sont disponibles sur: http://results.wwviews.org

Recommandations
Recommandations suisses (version originale)
Recommandations suisses (en anglais)

Autres publications

Newsletter TA-SWISS 02/2009

[TOP]

Contacts

Partenaires du projet
Liste des partenaires internationaux

Personnes impliquées dans le projet
Responsables du projet à TA-SWISS

  • Dr. Sergio Bellucci, TA-SWISS, e-mail
  • Nadia Ben Zbir, TA-SWISS

Partenaires en Suisse

  • Alain Kaufmann, Directeur, Interface Sciences-Société, Université de Lausanne
  • Marc Audétat, Interface Sciences-Société, Université de Lausanne
  • Prof. Edo Poglia, Université de la Suisse italienne
  • Giovanni Pellegri, Science et Cité, Université de la Suisse italienne
  • Michela Luraschi, Science et Cité, Université de la Suisse italienne

Groupe de conseil

  • Dr. Ruedi Jörg-Fromm, représentant de l'Union Syndicale Suisse (USS), (membre du comité directeur), Zürich
  • René Longet,  Equiterre, (membre du comité directeur), Genève
  • Dr. Urs Neu, ProClim, Académie des sciences naturelles, Berne
  • Ulrike Saul, expert climat, WWF Suisse, Zürich
  • Mike Weibel, Office fédéral de l'environnement OFEV, Berne
  • Dr. Elena Xoplaki, Oeschger Centre for Climate Change Research & NCCR Climate, Université de Berne

Coordinateurs du projet

  • Dr. Lars Klüver, Danish Board of Technology
  • Bjørn Bedsted, Danish Board of Technology
  • Søren Gram, Danish Board of Technology

[TOP]

Liens

World Wide Views on Global Warming

[TOP]

Project
Short Title: WWViews on Global Warming
Long Title: Worldwide collective project WWViews on Global Warming
Short Description: In December 2009, representatives of a number of states came together at the United Nations Climate Change Conference, COP 15, to negotiate a new agreement following the Kyoto Protocol. In preparation for this meeting, World Wide Views on Global Warming gave 4,000 citizens from 38 countries an opportunity to express their views on climate policy issues.
Start: 2008
End: 2009
Partner Institutes: DBT
Scope Countries:
Contact Person: Bellucci, Sergio
Home Page URL: http://www.ta-swiss.ch/en/wwviews-on-global-warming
Focus:
Project Leader: TA-SWISS
Other Members:

Le projet en bref

En décembre 2009, des représentants de nombreux Etats se sont réunis lors de la Conférence des Nations Unies sur le Climat COP 15, pour négocier un nouvel accord devant faire suite au Protocole de Kyoto. En préparation à cette rencontre, le World Wide Views on Global Warming a permis à 4'000 citoyennes et citoyens de 38 pays d’exprimer leur avis sur des questions de politique climatique.

Link : www.wwviews.org

Projet: mars 2008 - fin 2009

Publications: 

Résumé des résultats pour la Suisse
Rapport final (en anglais)
Recommandations suisses (version originale)

Mandataires: Dr. Lars Klüver, Bjørn Bedsted, Søren Gram, Danish Board of Technology

WWViews_Diskussion_korr.jpg