Foundation for Technology Assessment

Publikationen

TA-SWISS was established to examine the opportunities and risks of new technologies. Its mission is anchored in the Federal Act on the Promotion of Research and Innovation. As a centre of excellence, the Foundation for Technology Assessment is incorporated in the Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences.

TA-SWISS is a non-profit foundation financed exclusively through public funding. The Foundation Board is responsible for strategic decision-making. The Steering Committee determines the content and focus of TA-SWISS activities.

TA-SWISS provides a transparent account of all decisions it takes. As an independent, objective observer of technological developments and their potential impact, the Foundation is not influenced by special interest groups. This independence enables TA-SWISS to recognize at an early stage which technologies have the potential to fundamentally change society. The Foundation pays particularly close attention to controversial issues that have a bearing on a large percentage of the Swiss population.

TA-SWISS studies deliver useful information and contain recommendations for future courses of action. In its activities, the Foundation operates independent of interest groups in politics, business or research, and it is committed to upholding scientific principles. TA-SWISS recommendations provide the foundation for decisions on technology policy taken by the Federal Council, Parliament and Administration – and in which the electorate of Switzerland also has a say. The findings from TA-SWISS studies enter into public debate via the media, and interested citizens have the opportunity to voice their concerns in the participatory projects. As such, the Foundation supports democratic policy formation.

View topics

Fondation pour l'évaluation des choix technologiques

Publikationen

TA-SWISS a pour mission d’examiner les opportunités et les risques des nouvelles technologies. Son mandat est défini dans loi fédérale sur l’encouragement de la recherche et de l’innovation. La Fondation pour l’évaluation des choix technologiques dépend de l’association Académies suisses des sciences dont elle est un centre de compétences.

TA-SWISS est une fondation d’utilité publique exclusivement financée par des fonds publics. Le Conseil de fondation est responsable des décisions stratégiques. Le Comité directeur définit l’orientation thématique de ses activités.

TA-SWISS rend compte de ses décisions en toute transparence. Elle se veut un observatoire des évolutions technologiques et de leurs répercussions potentielles, indépendante de l’influence de tout groupe d’intérêts. Elle permet ainsi d’identifier très tôt quelles technologies sont susceptibles de transformer radicalement notre société. TA-SWISS accorde une attention particulière aux évolutions qui touchent de larges pans de la population suisse et sont controversées au sein de la société.

Par le biais de ses analyses, TA-SWISS offre une aide à la décision et formule des recommandations. La Fondation n’est pas influencée par des groupes d’intérêts politiques, économiques ou du monde de la recherche et mène ses activités dans le respect des principes scientifiques. Les recommandations de TA-SWISS servent de base aux décisions du Conseil fédéral, du Parlement et de l’administration en matière de politique technologique; elles s’adressent aussi aux citoyennes et aux citoyens. Les travaux de TA-SWISS sont portés à la connaissance du public et alimentent le débat via les médias. Les projets participatifs permettent à celles et ceux qui le souhaitent de s’exprimer. À ce titre, la Fondation contribue à favoriser le processus de décision démocratique.

Aux sujets