Study «Nanofood»

Introduction | Results | Procedure | DownloadsContacts

Umschlag_Nano_im_Lebensmittelbereich.jpg

Martin Möller, Ulrike Eberle, Andreas Hermann, Katja Moch, Britta Stratmann.
Nanotechnology in the food sector
TA-SWISS (ed.) – Centre for Technology Assessment, 2009, 228 pages
CHF 48.– / EUR 34.– (D) ISBN 978-3-7281-3234-5/  Download open access ISBN 9783728132512
vdf Hochschulverlag AG, ETH Zurich

Now available in English!
Download of the Final report (pdf)

Introduction

What is nanotechnology?
The term “nano” comes from the Greek word for “dwarf”. In science and technology, we use it to define the order of magnitude “one billionth” (10-9). In the field of nanotechnology, it refers to a nanometre (nm), that is, one billionth of a metre (one millionth of a millimetre). Nanotechnology relates specifically to structures between 1 and 100 nanometres in size, which brings it into the realm of individual molecules or even atoms. At such dimensions, the properties of materials can assume significantly different characteristics, which opens up a range of new possibilities for technology. There are already everyday applications, e.g. in textiles, or in the finishing of surfaces such as window glass.

Opportunities and risks of nanotechnology in the food sector
The popular media are already carrying reports about “nanofood”, presenting on the one hand examples of products and futuristic scena­rios for nutrition, and on the other mentioning unforeseeable risks. The benefits, for instance, include health-promoting additives, and there is also talk of longer shelf-lives or new flavour varieties. Among the risks, the reports point to the still inadequately clarified effects these new types of substances might have on our health. The public have their doubts about these developments, as was shown by the publifocus events held by TA-SWISS in 2006.

Why conduct a TA-SWISS study on this subject?
Experts in the field of food science are fin­ding that at present very little practical use is made of nanotechnology in food, although it is important in basic research. The industry is already spending huge sums on researching the relative potential. That is why there is an urgent need for some clarification of the issue, before any such products are marketed on a wide scale. The public reacts very sensitively to the way food is produced; the debate on genetic engineering showed this very clearly. An early, well-grounded investigation of nanotechnology in the field of nutrition should therefore help to generate an objective discussion.

Aims of the study

  • To discuss the future prospects for nanotechnology in the food sector (including packaging materials). What visions and interests are linked to these, and who are the actors behind them?
  • To distinguish between “nanofictions”, as they are constantly being presented in the media, and the scientific principles and foreseeable applications based on these.
  • To investigate the subject in the context of changing nutritional habits (trends such as convenience food or functional food). What requirements are there on the consumer side?
  • To discuss arguments about the natural state and the “manipulation” of food in comparison with the long-standing debate on genetic engineering in food.
  • To evaluate the situation in an overall assessment by comparing different strategies for “improving” foods.  
  • To formulate recommendations for decision makers, especially politicians. 

[TOP]

Results

  • The analysis of the Swiss market showed that so far only few nanoscale food additives as well as food supplied with such components are available. These are additives such as silicon dioxide, carotenoids and micelles which are already in use and have been toxicologically reviewed for many years. They allow an improved handling, an improved optic and an increase of the bioavailability of nutrients.
  • However, on non-European markets food additives containing nanoscale heavy metals with dubious benefits and partially risky properties from a toxicological viewpoint are available.
  • In food packaging composite films and PET bottles with nano-technologically improved barrier features against gases and flavours improving shelf-life of the content can be found on the Swiss market. Furthermore, packaging with biocidal substances (mainly nanosilver) exist outside Switzerland with a view to achieve active protection against bacteria and fungi.
  • At present, given the current market situation, the contribution of nanotechnology to an environmentally friendly, constitutional and ethically responsible nutrition is estimated marginal in Switzerland.
  • In perspective the enrichment of food with nanoscale supplements (e.g. iron) could indeed generate a constitutional advantage in developing countries, which is connected to an economic potential on a large scale.
  • A requirement for this is the human and eco-toxicological harmlessness of the applied nanomaterials. Food packaging with nanocomponents, however, already offer advantages for consumers at present and therefore hold a bigger potential for the future, especially because it also includes environmental impact reduction potential.   

Recommendations

  • The challenge for the future consists in not precluding the achievable benefit through possible existing human and eco-toxicological risks of the applied nanomaterials. At this level, for instance, the migration of toxicologically critical nano-materials of food packaging into food has to be mentioned.
  • Therefore, the development of nanomaterials in the food sector and the design of the scope of regulation should be conducted by the precautionary principle. It is recommended to integrate the precautionary principle explicitly into Swiss food law.
  • When implementing the principle, the current regulations to food law, which generally also include nanomaterials, should be adjusted to nanospecific demands. Concrete public guidelines for risk management for producers and importers are recommended.
  • Furthermore, specific labelling of nanomaterials in ingredients and in packaging materials is recommended. The labelling shall facilitate traceability in the production chain of specific food and governmental food monitoring, as well as offering the freedom of choice to consumers. However, the enaction of a specific "nanofood law" is not recommended.
  • Finally, it should be surveyed if and to what extent the regulations for traceability along the production chain for synthetic nanomaterials that ist already followed by producers, have to be adapted and how they are applied in practice.
  • Regulatory measures have to be accompanied by an intensification of risk research as well as a consequent assuming of product responsibility by the producers. This especially involves increased information, transparency and willingness to communicate with stakeholders and the public.
  • As is also recommended within the action plan "Synthetic nanomaterials" by the Federal Council, dialogue platforms about chances and risks as well as a corporative agreement process for the handling of nano-materials in the food sector should form an integral element of the further development process.

[TOP]

Procedure

Method
The study essentially comprises three modules:

  • Interdisciplinary analysis
    After defining the subject of the investigation, this module will analyse the product market, the state of research, the legal situation and social questions. The debate about genetic engineering will be considered in comparison with these investigations, which relate to nanotechnology. Data will be obtained by means of “desk research” (evaluation of literature and databases) and interviews with experts.
  • Stakeholder survey
    Detailed and current data will be gathered from experts and other key actors in the nanotechnology field with the help of a written survey. This will cover in particular topics which the results of the first module have created a need of further clarification.  
  • Overall evaluation
    An interdisciplinary overall evaluation will analyse the results of modules one and two. Recommendations will be formulated, based on this evaluation.

Timetable
Project start: spring 2007| completion: spring 2009

[TOP]

Downloads

Media information
More attractive, fresher, healthier −
thanks to nanopackaging and nanoadditives?
pdf

Study abstract
Dinner is served!
Nanotechnology in the kitchen and in the shopping basket
Abstract of the TA-SWISS study «Nanotechnology in the food sector»
Pdf of the abstract in English, French and German

Press review
«Nano» auf dem Teller und in der Flasche, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, 24.01.2009
Nanoteilchen in Lebensmitteln sind ungenügend reglementiert, Tages Anzeiger, 24.01.2009
Keine Deklaration für Nano-Lebensmittel, Der Bund, 24.01.2009
Des nanotechnologies dans nos assiettes, Le Temps, 24.01.2009

Podcast
28.01.2009: les nanoparticules, Radio Suisse Romande, Impatience

Contacts

Sponsorship
• Centre for Technology Assessment TA-SWISS
• Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG
• The Innovation Promotion Agency CTI

Persons participating

TA-SWISS Project Supervisors
• Dr Adrian Rüegsegger, TA-SWISS, e-mail

Project mandataries
• Dr Ulrike Eberle, Öko-Institut e.V. – Institute for Applied Ecology, Freiburg i.Br., Germany
• Martin Möller, Öko-Institut e.V. – Institute for Applied Ecology, Freiburg i.Br., Germany

Supervisory group
• Prof. Dr Ueli Aebi, Module manager «Nanobiology», Swiss Nanosciences Institute, Basel
• Dr Andreas Bachmann, Philosopher, Ethik im Diskurs GmbH, Zurich
• Dr Michael Beer, Food Safety Division, Federal Office of Public Health FOPH, Bern
• Natalie Bougeard, Scientific journalist, L’Hebdo, Lausanne
• PD Dr. Béatrice J. Conde-Petit, Corporate Development Bühler Management AG, Uzwil
• Dr Lutz End, R&D Formulation Nutrition, Fine Chemical Division, BASF AG, Ludwigshafen, Germany
• Ruth Genner, Food scientist, President of the Green Party
• Peter Gubser, Marketing Services, Migros-Genossenschaftsbund, Zurich
• Dr Beat Hodler, Föderation der Schweizerischen Nahrungsmittelindustrie (FIAL), Bern
• Alain Kaufmann, Director Nanopublic, Interface Sciences-Société, University of Lausanne
• Prof. Dr Harald Krug, Division Manager «Materials-Biology Interactions», EMPA, St Gall
• Dr Markus Lötscher, Federal Office for Agriculture FOAG, Bern
• Dr Thomas H. Meier, Foundation for Consumer Protection SKS, Bern
• Prof. Dr Peter Schurtenberger, Center for Nanomaterials, Physics department of the University of Fribourg
• Dr Christoph Studer, Industrial Chemicals Section, Substances, Soil, Biotechnology Division, Federal Office for the Environment (FOEN), Bern
• Prof. Dr Jakob Tanner, Research Centre for Social and Economic History, University of Zurich
• Prof. Dr Erich Windhab, Institute for Food and Nutrition Science, ETH Zurich

Project
Short Title: Nanofood
Long Title: Nanofood
Short Description: Nanotechnology has arrived in the food sector – in the form of additives, or in packaging materials. The TA-SWISS study shows which synthetic nanomaterials are being used for these, which applications are likely in the foreseeable future, and where caution is called for. The study also assesses products that contain nanomaterials, with regard to environmental issues and sustainability.
Start: 2007
End: 2009
Partner Institutes:
Scope Countries:
Contact Person: Rüegsegger, Adrian
Home Page URL: http://www.ta-swiss.ch/en/nanofood/
Focus:
Project Leader: TA-SWISS
Other Members:

The project in brief

Nanotechnology has arrived in the food sector – in the form of additives, or in packaging materials. The TA-SWISS study shows which synthetic nanomaterials are being used for these, which applications are likely in the foreseeable future, and where caution is called for. The study also assesses products that contain nanomaterials, with regard to environmental issues and sustainability.

Project: completet (2009)

Publications: Book (German) , English translation and abridged version (German, French, English)

Project mandataire: Dr Martin Möller, Institute of Applied Ecology, Freiburg (Germany)

PET-Flaschen.jpg

Etude «Les nanotechnologies dans l'alimentation»

Introduction | Résultats | Déroulement | DownloadsContacts

Umschlag_Nano_im_Lebensmittelbereich.jpg

Martin Möller, Ulrike Eberle, Andreas Hermann, Katja Moch, Britta Stratmann.
Nanotechnologie im Bereich der Lebensmittel
TA-SWISS (éd.) – Centre d’évaluation des choix technologiques, 2009, 228 pages
CHF 48.– / EUR 34.– (D) ISBN 978-3-7281-3234-5 /  Download open access ISBN 9783728132512
vdf Hochschulverlag AG, ETH Zurich

Etude désormais disponible en anglais!
Télécharger l'étude "Nanotechnology in the Food Sector" (pdf)

Introduction

Qu'est-ce que la nanotechnologie?
La notion de « nano » vient du grec et signifie « nain ». Dans les domaines scientifiques et techniques, il désigne un ordre de grandeur d’un « milliardième » (10-9). Dans les nanotechnologies, un nanomètre représente donc un milliardième de mètre (soit un millionième de millimètre). La nanotechnologie étudie les structures dont la taille varie entre 1 et 100 nanomètres, ce qui nous amène à l’ordre de grandeur des molécules et des atomes. A de telles dimensions, les matériaux peuvent changer de propriétés, et ouvrir ainsi de nouvelles opportunités à la technique. D’ailleurs, certaines applications sont déjà courantes dans notre quotidien, par exemple, dans les textiles ou dans l’amélioration de surfaces comme le verre des fenêtres.


Opportunités et risques de l’utilisation des nanotechnologies dans l’alimentation
Les médias grand public s’intéressent déjà aux « nano-aliments » en présentant d’un côté des nouveaux produits et des scénarios futuristes d’alimentation, et de l’autre les risques imprévisibles qui pourraient en découler. Les compléments alimentaires, l’augmentation de la durée de conservation ou encore les nouvelles variantes de goûts sont perçus comme les points positifs de cette nouvelle technologie. Du point de vue des risques, il faut attirer l’attention sur les conséquences encore mal connues de ces nouvelles substances sur la santé. Les citoyens ont d’ailleurs exprimé des réserves sur cette question lors du publifocus organisé par TA-SWISS en 2006.


Pourquoi une étude TA-SWISS sur ce thème ?
Les experts dans le domaine des sciences alimentaires estiment que l’utilisation de la nanotechnologie dans la nourriture est encore très rare, bien que ce soit un domaine qui ait de l’importance dans la recherche fondamentale. D’ailleurs, l’industrie investit déjà de grosses sommes pour explorer les possibilités de cette technologie. Une mise au point de cette question s’impose avant que des produits de ce type ne soient largement commercialisés. En outre, les citoyens réagissent de manière très sensible sur la manière dont les aliments sont fabriqués. Cet aspect est d’ailleurs très clairement ressorti lors du débat sur le génie génétique. La question de la nanotechnologie dans l’alimentation (Matériel d’emballage y compris) devrait être traitée dès maintenant et de manière approfondie dans le cadre d’une discussion objective.

Objectifs de l’étude

  • Discuter des perspectives d’avenir de la nanotechnologie dans le domaine de l’alimentation (Matériel d’emballage inclus). Quelles visions et quels intérêts y sont liés ? Quels sont les acteurs qui se trouvent là-derrière ?

  • Faire la différence entre une sorte de « nano-fiction », de plus en plus présentée dans les médias, et les véritables fondements scientifiques, de même que les utilisations prévisibles basées sur ces données.

  • Examiner cette thématique dans le contexte du changement des habitudes alimentaires (Tendances à la « convenience food » ou à la « functional food », en fançais « aliments fonctionnels »). Quels sont les besoins des consommateurs et consommatrices ?

  • Discuter des arguments autour de la question de « l’état naturel » et des manipulations de produits alimentaires par comparaison avec le long débat sur le génie génétique dans l’alimentation.

  • Évaluer la situation de façon complète par une comparaison des différentes stratégies visant à « améliorer » des aliments.

  • Formuler les recommandations pour les personnes amenées à prendre des décisions, en particulier les politiciens.

[TOP]

Résultats

  • L’analyse du marché suisse a montré que jusqu’à présent, seuls sont disponibles quelques nano-additifs ou des aliments en contenant. Il s’agit des additifs tels que le dioxyde de silicium, les caroténoïdes et les micelles qui sont déjà utilisés et testés depuis plusieurs années. Ils permettent d’améliorer l’utilisation et l’apparence des produits, et d’augmenter la biodisponibilité des nutriments.
  • Cependant, sont disponibles sur des marchés non européens d’autres additifs contenant des métaux lourds de taille nano aux bienfaits douteux, et présentant des caractéristiques partiellement toxiques.
  • Dans la catégorie «emballages alimentaires», le marché suisse propose des films alimentaires composites et des bouteilles PET aux barrières nano-technologiquement améliorées contre le gaz et les arômes permettant une meilleure conservation de leur contenu. A l’extérieur de la Suisse, il existe d’autres emballages contenant des substances biocides (principalement le nano-argent), fournissant une protection contre les bactéries et les moisissures.
  • En considérant la situation présente du marché, la contribution de la nanotechnologie à une alimentation écologique, saine et éthique est évaluée à ce jour comme marginale en Suisse.
  • À l’avenir, l’enrichissement de la nourriture avec des suppléments nanométriques (p. ex. fer) pourrait constituer un avantage significatif pour les pays en voie de développement et émergeants, entraînant un important potentiel économique.
  • Un pré-requis pour ceci est l’innocuité des matériaux nanométriques utilisés, d’un point de vue écologique et humain. Les emballages alimentaires en revanche offrent déjà des avantages pour le consommateur et impliquent donc un potentiel plus important dans l’avenir, essentiellement par l’effet de préservation de l’environnement qu’ils apportent.

Recommandations

  • Le défi pour le futur consiste à ce que de potentiels risques humains et éco-toxicologiques liés à l’utilisation de nanomatériaux ne contrecarrent pas les bénéfices réalisables. A ce propos, mentionnons le transfert de nanomatériaux inquiétants du point de vue toxicologique, des emballages alimentaires vers les aliments qu’ils contiennent.
  • Par conséquent le principe de précaution devrait conduire tout développement des nanomatériaux dans l’alimentation ainsi que toute élaboration d’une quelconque règlementation. Il est recommandé d’incorporer explicitement le principe de précaution dans le droit suisse sur les denrées alimentaires.
  • Lors de la mise en œuvre de ce principe, l’actuel droit sur les denrées alimentaires, incluant en principe les nanomatériaux, devrait être ajusté aux demandes spécifiques de la nanotechnologie. Concrètement il est recommandé d’établir des directives publiques pour la gestion des risques à l’attention des producteurs et importateurs.
  • De plus, un étiquetage spécifique des ingrédients et des emballages contenant des nanomatériaux est recommandé. Ceci devrait faciliter la traçabilité dans la chaîne de production alimentaire, la surveillance gouvernementale et finalement offrir au consommateur le droit du libre choix. L’énonciation d’une loi « nano-alimentation » particulière n’est au contraire pas recommandée.
  • Pour finir, il faudrait vérifier si et dans quelles proportions les règles de traçabilité imposées aux producteurs tout au long de la chaîne de production doivent être adaptées aux nanomatériaux et comment elles sont appliquées en pratique.
  • Les mesures de règlementation doivent être encadrées d’une intensification de la recherche des risques et d’une prise de responsabilisation des producteurs face à leurs produits. Ceci implique essentiellement un renforcement de l’information, de la transparence et une volonté accrue de communiquer avec les groupes d’intérêt et le public.
  • Comme recommandé dans le plan d’action « nanomatériaux synthétiques » du Conseil fédéral, des plateformes de dialogue au sujet des bienfaits et risques de cette technologie, ainsi qu’un processus de concertation de la société au sujet de l’utilisation de nanomatériaux au sein du secteur alimentaire devraient faire partie intégrante du développement de cette technique.

[TOP]

Déroulement

Méthode
L’étude se compose de trois modules :

  • Une analyse interdisciplinaire :
    Après avoir défini le sujet de l’étude, ce module analysera les produits du marché, l’état de la recherche, la situation légale et les questions sociales. Ces différentes recherches relatives à la nanotechnologie seront comparées au débat sur le génie génétique. Les données seront obtenues d’une part grâce à « Desk Research » (exploitation de la littérature et des banques de données) et d’autre part grâce à des interviews de chercheurs.

  • La consultation d’un stakeholder:
    Avec l’aide d’informations écrites, des données détaillées et actuelles devront être rassemblées par des experts et d’autres acteurs du domaine de la nanotechnologie. En particulier pour les sujets dont les résultats émis par le premier module ont montré que des informations supplémentaires étaient nécessaires.

  • Une évaluation complète:
    Une évaluation interdisciplinaire complète analysera les résultats des deux premiers modules. Des recommandations, basées sur cette évaluation, pourront alors être formulées.

Calendrier
Début du projet: été 2007 | Fin: printemps 2009

[TOP]

Downloads

Informations aux médias
Plus beaux, plus frais, plus sains –
grâce aux nanoemballages et aux nanoadditifs?
pdf

Résumé de l'étude
Le repas est servi!
La nanotechnologie à la cuisine et dans le panier d'achats.
Résumé de l'étude de TA-SWISS «Les nanotechnologies dans l'alimentation»
pdf en français, allemand et anglais

Revue de presse
Des nanotechnologies dans nos assiettes, Le Temps, 24.01.2009
«Nano» auf dem Teller und in der Flasche
, Neue Zürcher Zeitung, 24.01.2009
Nanoteilchen in Lebensmitteln sind ungenügend reglementiert, Tages Anzeiger, 24.01.2009
Keine Deklaration für Nano-Lebensmittel, Der Bund, 24.01.2009

Podcast
28.01.2009: les nanoparticules, Radio Suisse Romande, Impatience

Contacts

Comité de patronage

  • Centre d'évaluation des choix technologiques TA-SWISS
  • Office fédéral de l'agriculture (OFAG)
  • Commission pour la technologie et l'innovation (CTI)

Personnes impliquées dans le projet

Responsables du projet à TA-SWISS

  • Dr. Adrian Rüegsegger, TA-SWISS, e-mail

Mandataires

  • Dr. Ulrike Eberle, Öko-Institut e.V. – Institut für Angewandte Ökologie, Fribourg-en-Brisgau, Allemagne
  • Martin Möller, Öko-Institut e.V. – Institut für Angewandte Ökologie, Fribourg-en-Brisgau, Allemagne

Groupe d'accompagnement

  • Prof. Dr. Ueli Aebi, Modul-Leiter «Nanobiologie», Swiss Nanosciences Institute, Bâle
  • Dr. Andreas Bachmann, philosophe, Ethik im Diskurs GmbH, Zurich
  • Dr. Michael Beer, section sécurité alimentaire, Office fédéral de la santé publique (OFSP), Berne
  • Natalie Bougeard, journaliste scientifique, L’Hebdo, Lausanne
  • PD Dr. Béatrice J. Conde-Petit, Corporate Development Bühler Management AG, Uzwil
  • Dr. Lutz End, R&D Formulation Nutrition, Fine Chemical Division, BASF AG, Ludwigshafen, Allemagne
  • Ruth Genner, ingénieure en denrée alimentaire; Présidente du parti "Les Verts, parti écologiste Suisse"
  • Peter Gubser, Services Marketing, Fédération des coopératives Migros, Zürich 
  • Dr. Beat Hodler, Fédération des industries alimentaires suisses (FIAL), Berne
  • Alain Kaufmann, responsable Nanopublic, Interface Sciences-Société, Université de Lausanne
  • Prof. Dr. Harald Krug, responsable du laboratoire «Materials-Biology Interactions», EMPA, St-Gall
  • Dr. Markus Lötscher, Office fédéral de l'agriculture OFAG, Berne  
  • Dr. Thomas H. Meier, Stiftung für Konsumentenschutz (SKS), Berne
  • Dr. Christoph Studer, Division Substances, sol, biotechnologie, Office fédéral de l'environnement (OFEV), Berne
  • Prof. Dr. Peter Schurtenberger, département de physique de l'Université de Friboug, Center for Nanomaterials
  • Prof. Dr. Jakob Tanner, Institut d'histoire sociale et économique de l'Université de Zurich
  • Prof. Dr. Erich Windhab, Institut des sciences des aliments et la nutrition, l'ETH Zurich

[TOP]

Project
Short Title: Nanofood
Long Title: Nanofood
Short Description: Nanotechnology has arrived in the food sector – in the form of additives, or in packaging materials. The TA-SWISS study shows which synthetic nanomaterials are being used for these, which applications are likely in the foreseeable future, and where caution is called for. The study also assesses products that contain nanomaterials, with regard to environmental issues and sustainability.
Start: 2007
End: 2009
Partner Institutes:
Scope Countries:
Contact Person: Rüegsegger, Adrian
Home Page URL: http://www.ta-swiss.ch/en/nanofood/
Focus:
Project Leader: TA-SWISS
Other Members:

Le projet en bref

Les nanotechnologies font leur entrée dans le secteur alimentaire, que ce soit sous la forme d'additifs ou dans des matériaux d'emballage. L'étude TA-SWISS montre quels nanomatériaux synthétiques sont utilisés à cet effet, quelles sont les applications envisagées et les précautions à prendre. Qui plus est, elle évalue les produits contenant des nanomatériaux en termes de valeur environnementale et de durabilité.

Projet: achevé (2009)

Publications: Livre (allemand), traduction anglaise et résumé (allemand, français, anglais)

Mandataire: Dr. Martin Möller, Institut für angewandte Ökologie, Freiburg (D)

PET-Flaschen.jpg