Project «Cloud Computing»

IntroductionProcedure | Results / Downloads | Contacts

Introduction

What do we mean by Cloud Computing?
Cloud Computing is a concept which describes the virtualisation of IT infrastructures, namely the provision, via networks, of computing capacity, memory units (Infrastructure as a Service, IaaS), programs (Software as a Service, SaaS) and programming environments (Platform as a Service, PaaS). The applications and data are therefore no longer on a local computer, but – metaphorically speaking – in a cloud comprising a certain number of remote interconnected servers. They are used in a dynamic way, according to the needs of the users. Access to cloud services is via the Internet, or, in the case of private clouds set up by companies, protected networks (intranet or extranet).

Opportunities and risks of Cloud Computing
Cloud Computing offers enterprises an effective and economical alternative to their growing need for data storage, as well as the conditions for using their computing resources in a dynamic and mobile way. Cloud Computing also constitutes an opportunity for innovation and development for new products and services, with implications for the world of business and for the public sector (public administration, health, education, research, etc.).

The main challenges for Cloud Computing lie in the fields of data security, the legal regulations applicable in a virtualisation context, the transparency and reliability of offers and the acceptance of such services by users.

Why is TA-SWISS conducting a project on the subject?
Cloud Computing is still relatively little used in Switzerland, but IT specialists see major potential in it for growth and utilisation, especially for the small and medium-sized enterprises which make up the economic fabric of Switzerland, and for the cantons and communes.

Cloud Computing is still relatively little used in Switzerland, but does show considerable potential for growth and utilisation, especially for the SME and micro-enterprises that dominate the Swiss corporate landscape, but also for the cantons and communes.

But until now Cloud Computing has always been a concept that is little known among the general public and political decision makers. As yet there has been no interdisciplinary debate on the opportunities and risks of Cloud Computing that will raise awareness among the general public and the decision makers.

Aims of the project
The aim of the project is to better understand the ins and outs of Cloud Computing, as well as the challenges it poses for Switzerland. In order to define this problem more precisely, the following were raised during a seminar organised in May 2011:

  • What are the development factors? Which are the domains concerned?
  • Hype or reality?
  • Security, data protection, law, environment: the challenges of computer virtualisation
  • Utilise the potentials, control the risks: what has to be done? Who has to act?

[TOP]

Procedure

Method
TA-SWISS invited thirty or so specialists to debate the opportunities and limits of Cloud Computing at a workshop in Berne on 17 May 2011. Among those taking part were representatives of enterprises providing Cloud Computing services, computer scientists, lawyers, representatives of public enterprises or entities which use cloud computing services, members of the federal government and representatives of consumer organisations.

The seminar opened with a series of presentations defining Cloud Computing, identifying the pertinent legal issues and offering specific application examples. Then, in an open discussion, all of the participants were invited to state their position on the challenges of Cloud Computing.

On the basis of these discussions, a scientific journalist will write a synthesis, together with a fact sheet presenting Cloud Computing and the challenges it poses. These documents, intended for non-specialists, will be distributed to those who normally receive information about the activities of TA-SWISS.

Timetable
Start of the project: January 2011          End of the project: autumn 2011

[TOP]

Results and downloads

Presentations made at the seminar held on 17 May 2011 (in German)
Dr. Fulvio Caccia, TA-SWISS

Dr. Tom Sprenger,  AdNovum

Prof. Dr. Hannes P. Lubich, FNHW

Hanspeter Christ, Bundesamt für Landestopografie swisstopo

Markus Zollinger, IBM

Dr. Sergio Bellucci, TA-SWISS

Thesen aus der Diskussionsrunde

Synthesis of the seminar of 17 May 2011
Report in German

Fact sheet and summary of a discussion between experts
Computing in the clouds – flexibility for a world in movement 

[TOP]

Contacts

Project supervisor

  • Danielle Bütschi, TA-SWISS. E-Mail

Organisation of the seminar

  • Dr. Sergio Bellucci, TA-SWISS
  • Nadia Ben Zbir, TA-SWISS
  • Dr. Fulvio Caccia, TA-SWISS
  • Markus Fischer, MF Consulting

[TOP]

Project
Short Title: Cloud Computing
Long Title: Cloud Computing
Short Description: Many people consider Cloud Computing to be the next watershed for information and communication technologies, with repercussions for individuals, companies and local authorities. But what is there hidden behind this concept? What are the issues involved? Does the Cloud represent a computing watershed, or is it a new marketing ploy? In May 2011 a number of experts took part in a seminar during which the characteristics and challenges of Cloud Computing were discussed.
Start: 2011
End: 2011
Partner Institutes:
Scope Countries:
Contact Person: Bütschi, Danielle
Home Page URL: http://www.ta-swiss.ch/en/cloud-computing/
Focus:
Project Leader: TA-SWISS
Other Members:

The project in brief

Many people consider Cloud Computing to be the next watershed for information and communication technologies, with repercussions for individuals, companies and local authorities. But what is there hidden behind this concept? What are the issues involved? Does the Cloud represent a computing watershed, or is it a new marketing ploy? In May 2011 a number of experts took part in a seminar during which the characteristics and challenges of Cloud Computing were discussed.

Timetable: January - autumn 2011

Publications: Synthesis (German) of seminaire and fact sheet

Project leader:
Dr. Danielle Bütschi, TA-SWISS




Cloud.jpg

Projet «Cloud Computing - L'informatique en nuage»

Introduction Déroulement | Résultats / Downloads | Contacts

Introduction

Qu’entend-on par Cloud Computing ?
Le Cloud Computing est un concept décrivant la virtualisation des infrastructures IT, à savoir la mise à disposition via des réseaux de capacités de calcul, d’unités de mémoire (Infrastructure as a Service, IaaS), de programmes (Software as a Service, SaaS) et d’environnements de programmation (Platform as a Service, PaaS). Les applications et les données ne se trouvent donc plus sur l'ordinateur local, mais – métaphoriquement parlant – dans un nuage («cloud») composé d'un certain nombre de serveurs distants interconnectés. Leur utilisation se fait de manière dynamique, selon les besoins des utilisateurs. L’accès aux services en nuage se fait par Internet, ou alors, dans le cas de clouds privés mis en place par des entreprises, par des réseaux protégés (intranet ou extranet).

 Chances et risques du Cloud Computing
Le Cloud Computing offre aux entreprises une alternative efficace et économique à leurs besoins croissants de stockage de données, ainsi que les conditions pour une utilisation dynamique et mobile de leurs ressources informatiques. Le Cloud Computing constitue  également une opportunité d’innovation et de développement pour de nouveaux produits et services, avec des implications pour le monde des entreprises et le secteur public (administration publique, santé, éducation, recherche, etc.).

Les principaux enjeux du Cloud Computing se situent dans les domaines de la sécurité des données, des règles de droit à appliquer dans un contexte de virtualisation, de la transparence et de la fiabilité des offres, et de l’acceptation de tels services par les utilisateurs.

 Pourquoi TA-SWISS mène-t-il un projet sur le sujet ?
Le Cloud Computing est encore relativement peu utilisé en Suisse, mais les spécialistes IT y voient un important potentiel de croissance et d’utilisation, en particulier pour les petites et moyennes entreprises qui constituent le tissu économique suisse et pour les cantons et les communes.

Mais jusqu’à présent, le Cloud Computing reste un concept peu connu du grand public et des décideurs politiques. Un débat interdisciplinaire sur les chances et les risques du Cloud Computing permettant de sensibiliser le grand public et les décideurs n’a pas encore eu lieu.

Objectifs du projet
Le projet a pour objectif de mieux comprendre les tenants et aboutissants du Cloud Computing, ainsi que ses enjeux pour la Suisse. Afin de cerner plus précisément cette problématique, les questions suivantes ont été abordées à l’occasion d’un séminaire organisé en mai 2011 :

  • Quels sont les facteurs de développement? Quels sont les domaines concernés?
  • Hype ou réalité?
  • Sécurité, protection des données, droit, environnement : les enjeux de la virtualisation informatique
  • Utiliser les potentiels, maîtriser les risques: que faut-il faire? Qui doit agir?

[TOP]

Déroulement

Méthode
TA-SWISS a convié une trentaine de spécialistes pour débattre des chances et limites du Cloud Computing lors d’un workshop à Berne, le 17 mai 2011. On comptait parmi les participant des représentants d’entreprises offrant des services de Cloud Computing, des informaticiens, des juristes, des représentants d’entreprises ou d’entités publiques utilisant des services en nuage, des membres de l’administration fédérale et des représentants d’organisations de consommateurs.

Le séminaire a débuté par une série d’exposés définissant le Cloud Computing, identifiant les enjeux juridiques pertinents et présentant des exemples concrets d’application. Puis, dans une discussion ouverte, tous les participants ont été invités à prendre position sur les enjeux du Cloud Computing.

Sur la base de ces discussions, une journaliste scientifique rédigera une synthèse  , ainsi qu’une feuille d’information présentant le Cloud Computing et ses enjeux. Ces documents, destinés à des non-spécialistes, seront diffusés auprès des destinataires habituels des activités de TA-SWISS.

Calendrier
Début du projet : janvier 2011                Fin du projet : automne 2011

[TOP]

Résultats et downloads

Présentations faites lors du séminaire du 17 mai 2011 (en allemand)
Dr. Fulvio Caccia, TA-SWISS

Dr. Tom Sprenger,  AdNovum

Prof. Dr. Hannes P. Lubich, FNHW

Hanspeter Christ, Bundesamt für Landestopografie swisstopo

Markus Zollinger, IBM

Dr. Sergio Bellucci, TA-SWISS

Thesen aus der Diskussionsrunde

Synthèse du séminaire du 17 mai 2011
Rapport en allemand

Fiche d’information et résumé de la discussion d'experts
L'informatique en nuage – flexibilité pour un monde en mouvement 

[TOP]

Contacts

Responsable de projet

  • Dr Danielle Bütschi, TA-SWISS. E-Mail

Organisation du séminaire

  • Dr Sergio Bellucci, TA-SWISS
  • Nadia Ben Zbir, TA-SWISS
  • Dr Fulvio Caccia, TA-SWISS
  • Markus Fischer, MF Consulting 

[TOP]

Project
Short Title: Cloud Computing
Long Title: Cloud Computing
Short Description: Many people consider Cloud Computing to be the next watershed for information and communication technologies, with repercussions for individuals, companies and local authorities. But what is there hidden behind this concept? What are the issues involved? Does the Cloud represent a computing watershed, or is it a new marketing ploy? In May 2011 a number of experts took part in a seminar during which the characteristics and challenges of Cloud Computing were discussed.
Start: 2011
End: 2011
Partner Institutes:
Scope Countries:
Contact Person: Bütschi, Danielle
Home Page URL: http://www.ta-swiss.ch/en/cloud-computing/
Focus:
Project Leader: TA-SWISS
Other Members:

Le projet en bref

Le Cloud Computing (ou informatique en nuage) est considéré par beaucoup comme le prochain tournant des technologies de l’information et de la communication, avec des répercussions pour les individus, les entreprises et les collectivités publiques. Mais que se cache-t-il derrière ce concept ? Quels en sont les enjeux ? Le Cloud constitue-t-il un tournant informatique ou est-ce un nouvel argument marketing ? Des experts ont participé en mai 2011 à un séminaire, pendant lequel les particularités et les enjeux du Cloud Computing ont été discutés.

Projet:  janvier - automne 2011

Publications: Synthèse  (allemand) du séminaire et feuille d'information

Responsable du projet:
Dr Danielle Bütschi, TA-SWISS

Cloud.jpg