How are new technologies changing our lives?
We are looking for the answers!

New technology applications generally serve progress. But they also have a whole range of unforseeable effects. The task of TA-SWISS consists in analyzing all possible consequences so that everyone can form his or her own educated opinion.

TA-SWISS, the Centre for Technology Assessment, deals with the possible consequences (opportunities and risks) of using new technologies on social coexistence and on the environment. To do so, TA-SWISS brings together experts from a very diverse range of subject areas and consults citizens. The analyses carried out by TA-SWISS are always centred around a consideration of possible "technological futures" from social, economic, ecological, ethical, legal and political points of view and working out courses of action from these.

  • To this end TA-SWISS takes on an early identification role and encourages debate on the opportunities and risks of new technologies.
  • TA-SWISS promotes interaction between different groups in society, provides objective bases for discussion and thus facilitates democratic decision making.
  • Based on its analyses and assessments, TA-SWISS presents decision makers with a reasoned selection of options.
  • From its studies, TA-SWISS draws its own conclusions, formulates and publishes its own recommendations and thus provides guidance for politicians, citizens and their organisations.

Scientific, independent, impartial

TA-SWISS therefore concerns itself with potential consequences of new technologies and their effect on our society. As a foundation financed exclusively from public funds, TA-SWISS fulfils its mandate, which is enshrined in law, on the basis of scientific knowledge, independence and impartiality.

These are the topics we are currently working on:

Our projects: information and background material

International technology assessment




Latest publications

FOCUS CITY Schlussbericht Participatory Workshop, TA-SWISS (Hrsg.), Bern, 2018

Download PDF Download PDF

Jahresbericht TA-SWISS 2017

Download PDF Download PDF

Sharing Economy - teilen statt besitzen. Studie Thomas von Stokar, Martin Peter, Remo Zandonella, Vanessa Angst, Kurt Pärli, Gabi Hildesheimer, Johannes Scherrer, Wilherlm Schmid (Hrsg.). vdf Hochschulverlag an der ETH Zürich, 2018.
ISBN 978-3-7281-3880-4.

Download PDF Download PDF

Sharing as a consumer culture Summary of the study «Sharing Economy – teilen statt besitzen» conducted by TA-SWISS Foundation for Technology Assessment (ed.), TA 67A/2018, Bern, 2018

Download PDF Download PDF

Remote-controlled flying machines. Abridged version of the study «Zivile Drohnen – Herausforderungen und Perspektiven» TA-SWISS, Bern 2018, TA 66A/2018

Download PDF Download PDF

Quantified Self – Schnittstelle zwischen Lifestyle und Medizin. Ursula Meidert, Mandy Scheermesser, Yvonne Prieur, Stefan Hegyi, Kurt Stockinger, Gabriel Eyyi, Michaela Evers-Wölk, Mattis Jacobs, Britta Oertel, Heidrun Becker. TA-SWISS, Stiftung für Technologiefolgen-Abschätzung (Hrsg.). vdf Hochschulverlag an der ETH Zürich, 2018.
ISBN 978-3-7281-3891-4.

Download PDF Download PDF

The measure of all things: potentials and risks of self-tracking Foundation for Technology Assessment (ed.), TA 67A/2018, Bern, 2018

Download PDF Download PDF

Zivile Drohnen. Herausforderungen und Perspektiven TA-SWISS Studie, Markus Christen, Michel Guillaume, Maximilian Jablonowski, Peter Lenhart, Kurt Moll (eds.), vdf Hochschulverlag AG, 252 Seiten, CHF 44.00 / EUR 42.00 (D)
ISBN: 978-3-7281-3893-4 (Buch)

Download PDF Download PDF

order publication

Comment la technologie va-t-elle changer notre vie?

Nous cherchons les réponses!

Si les nouvelles applications techniques en général sont au service du progrès, elles ont également toute une série de répercussions plus ou moins intentionnelles. Le rôle de TA-SWISS est d'étudier et de présenter tout l'évantail des conséquences possibles pour que chacun puisse se faire sa propre opinion.

TA-SWISS, la Fondation pour l’évaluation des choix technologiques, entend mener une réflexion sur les répercussions– opportunités et risques – que l’utilisation de nouvelles technologies peut avoir sur la société et sur l’environnement. Pour ce faire, TA-SWISS réunit à une même table des experts issus de disciplines très diverses et s’enquiert de l’avis des citoyennes et des citoyens. Les analyses effectuées par TA-SWISS analysent des «avenirs technologiques» potentiels sous l'angle de leurs conséquences sociales, économiques, écologiques, éthiques, juridiques et politiques.

  • Dans cette optique, TA-SWISS assume une fonction de veille technologique et suscite le débat sur les opportunités et les risques liés aux nouvelles technologies.
  • TA-SWISS favorise l’interaction entre différents groupes au sein de la société, donne concrètement matière à discussion et contribue ainsi à la prise de décisions démocratiques.
  • En se fondant sur ses analyses et évaluations, TA-SWISS présente aux décideurs politiques un éventail d’options étayé.
  • A partir de ses études, TA-SWISS tire des conclusions, élabore ses propres recommandations, qu’elle publie, et propose des options d'action aux politiques, aux citoyennes et citoyens et aux organisations.

Scientifique, indépendant, impartial

TA-SWISS s’intéresse donc aux conséquences possibles de nouvelles technologies et à leurs répercussions sur notre société. Etant une fondation financée exclusivement par des fonds publics, TA-SWISS remplit sa mission ancrée dans la loi sur une base scientifique, indépendante et impartiale.

Les thèmes suivants nous occupent actuellement

Nos projets : Informations et documentation de fond

L’évaluation des choix technologiques au niveau international


Dernières publications

FOCUS CITY Rapport final Participatory Workshop, TA-SWISS (éd.), Berne, 2018

PDF à télécharger PDF à télécharger

Rapport d'activité TA-SWISS 2017

PDF à télécharger PDF à télécharger

Sharing Economy - teilen statt besitzen. Studie Thomas von Stokar, Martin Peter, Remo Zandonella, Vanessa Angst, Kurt Pärli, Gabi Hildesheimer, Johannes Scherrer, Wilherlm Schmid (Hrsg.). vdf Hochschulverlag an der ETH Zürich, 2018.
ISBN 978-3-7281-3880-4.

PDF à télécharger PDF à télécharger

Le partage en tant que culture de la consommation. Résumé de l’étude de TA-SWISS « Sharing Economy – teilen statt besitzen ». Fondation pour l'évaluation des choix technologies (éd.), TA 67A/2018, Berne, 2018

PDF à télécharger PDF à télécharger

Engins volants télécommandés. Synthèse de l’étude « Zivile Drohnen – Herausforderungen und Perspektiven » TA-SWISS, Berne 2018, TA 66A/2018

PDF à télécharger PDF à télécharger

Quantified Self – Schnittstelle zwischen Lifestyle und Medizin. Ursula Meidert, Mandy Scheermesser, Yvonne Prieur, Stefan Hegyi, Kurt Stockinger, Gabriel Eyyi, Michaela Evers-Wölk, Mattis Jacobs, Britta Oertel, Heidrun Becker. TA-SWISS, Stiftung für Technologiefolgen-Abschätzung (Hrsg.). vdf Hochschulverlag an der ETH Zürich, 2018.
ISBN 978-3-7281-3891-4.

PDF à télécharger PDF à télécharger

Tout sur soi : potentiels et risques de l’automesure numérique Fondation pour l'évaluation des choix technologies (éd.), TA 67A/2018, Berne, 2018

PDF à télécharger PDF à télécharger

Zivile Drohnen. Herausforderungen und Perspektiven TA-SWISS Studie, Markus Christen, Michel Guillaume, Maximilian Jablonowski, Peter Lenhart, Kurt Moll (eds.), vdf Hochschulverlag AG, 252 Seiten, CHF 44.00 / EUR 42.00 (D)
ISBN: 978-3-7281-3893-4 (Buch)

PDF à télécharger PDF à télécharger

Commander la publication